Westchester and Rockland counties are included in the "Mid-Hudson" region in the governor's regional reopening plan.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

On Monday, Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced regions can start to reopen on May 15 if a number of guidelines are met. Once a region meets the criteria to reopen businesses will reopen in four phases.

On Monday, leaders from Ulster, Dutchess, Orange, Sullivan, Greene, Columbia, and Putnam counties announced they agreed to work together and meet later this week to discuss a reopening plan.

Live Updates: Coronavirus in the Hudson Valley

Gov. Andrew Cuomo's New York Forward plan splits the state up into 10 regions. Columbia and Green counties are included in the "Capital Region" while Westchester and Rockland counties are placed in the "Mid-Hudson" region.

The 10 region breakdown is below, courtesy the Governor's Office.

  • Mid-Hudson: Dutchess, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, Ulster, Westchester
  • Capital Region: Albany, Columbia, Greene, Saratoga, Schenectady, Rensselaer, Warren, Washington
  • New York City: Bronx, Kings, New York, Richmond, Queens
  • Long Island: Nassau, Suffolk
  • Western New York: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara
  • Finger Lakes: Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Seneca, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates
  • Southern Tier: Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Delaware, Schuyler, Steuben, Tioga, Tompkins
  • Central New York: Cayuga, Cortland, Madison, Onondaga, Oswego
  • Mohawk Valley: Fulton, Herkimer, Montgomery, Oneida, Otsego, Schoharie
  • North Country: Clinton, Essex, Franklin, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, St. Lawrence

New York now has a website that shows how close parts of the state are to being allowed to start the reopening process. Hudson Valley officials are pushing to reopen in the very near future.

Hudson Valley's Top 10 News Stories of 2019