Taylor Swift dropped a surprise album that features some alternative artists.

The music industry was stunned yesterday when Taylor Swift announced she was releasing a surprise album. This is her eighth studio album that is titled Folklore. Another surprising part of the announcement? That some alternative music artists would be involved on the album.

The Guardian reports that The National and Bon Iver are both involved in Swift's latest album. Swift's usual collaborator, Jack Antonoff, is also part of the album. Folklore dropped at midnight on July 23. The National was involved in writing and Bon Iver is featured on a track with Swift.

According to The Guardian, Aaron Dessner of The National co-wrote a lot of the album with Taylor Swift and Jack Antonoff. Dessner was approached by swift in April 2020 to write together. Dessner said he shared sketches he was working on with Swift and she responded with a fully written version of a song hours later. Dessner said that other people from the National are on the album, like Bryce Dessner and Bryan Devendorf. People who often work with the National, like Ben Manz, Thomas Bartlett, and Kyle Resnick, are also part of the album.

Justin Vernon, a.k.a. Bon Iver, is featured on the track titled "Exile" on the new album. Dessner actually was the connection for Swift to meet Vernon, according to Twin Cities. Vernon co-wrote the song with Swift. The track also has vocals from Vernon.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app
Listen to the WRRV Morning Grind weekday mornings from 6AM to 10AM on 92.7/96.9 WRRV. Stream us live through the website, your Alexa-enabled device, Google Home or the WRRV mobile app.

Read more:

READ MORE: Hudson Valley's Most Romantic Hike + 3 More Breathtaking Trails