The Red Hot Chili Peppers sell out stadiums and amphitheaters all over the world. But there was a time when they were out there paying dues and an early tour made a stop at The Chance Theater in Poughkeepsie.

The band was out supporting their Mother's Milk album and hadn't yet released the landmark Blood Sugar Sex Magic.  Here's a chance to listen back to the show almost 30 years later.

Red Hot Chili Peppers setlist from The Chance Theater on November 13th, 1989. The one hour and 23-minute set featured a number of early originals as well as covers by NWA, Jimi Hendrix and AC/DC and others.

  1. Out In LA
  2. Backwoods
  3. Funky Crime (Parliment cover)
  4. Stone Cold Bush
  5. Green Heaven
  6. Police Helicopter
  7. Standing On The Verge Of Getting It On (Funkadelic cover)
  8. Boyz-In-The-Hood (NWA cover)
  9. Party On Your P$#@%
  10. Pretty Little Ditty
  11. Subway To Venus
  12. Jam
  13. Hollywood (The Meters cover)
  14. Knock Me Down
  15. Skinny Sweaty Man
  16. Good God (James Brown cover)
  17. Happy #12 & #35 (Thelonious Monster cover)
  18. Sexy Mexican Maid
  19. Back In Black (AC/DC cover)
  20. Subterranean Homesick Blues (Bob Dylan cover)
  21. Castles Made of Sand (Jimi Hendrix cover)
  22. Me And My Friends
  23. Magic Johnson
  24. Unknown
  25. Nevermind
  26. Encore: Baby Appeal
  27. Encore: Fire (Jimi Hendrix cover)

Mothers Milk featured the Red Hot Chili Peppers first big single 'Knock Me Down'.

Listen to Afternoons With Simon weekdays from 3 PM to 7 PM on 92.7/96.9 WRRV. Stream us live through the website, your Alexa-enabled device, Google Home or the WRRV mobile app.

Read more: