Gov. Cuomo signed a new law that will require everyone in a car in New York to wear a seat belt.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

On Monday, Gov. Andrew Cuomo signed legislation requiring all passengers in motor vehicles over the age of 16 to wear a seat belt. Currently, passengers aged 16 and older are only required to wear a seat belt in the front passenger seat next to the driver.

"We've known for decades that seat belts save lives and with this measure we are further strengthening our laws and helping to prevent needless tragedies," Cuomo stated. "It was under my father's leadership that New York became the first state in the country to pass a seat belt law, and the nation followed his lead. Now we are building upon this legacy and helping to create a safer and stronger Empire State for all."

Under the current law, children under the age of 16 already must wear seat belts no matter where they are seating in a vehicle. Children under the age of four must ride in safety seats, according to the DMV.

In 1984, under Governor Mario Cuomo, New York became the first state to pass a mandatory seat belt law and in the same year, according to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles, approximately 16 percent of individuals wore seat belts. By 2008, 24 years after the law was enacted, the compliance rate was up to 89 percent.

"The injuries you can sustain from not wearing a seat belt can be deadly, and that's a fact whether you sit in the front or the back of a vehicle. With this bill signed into law, we will help prevent tragedies and save lives in New York. Thank you to the advocates, including AAA for their strong support of this legislation," Senator David Carlucci said.

The Governor's Traffic Safety Committee reports 30 percent of all highway deaths in New York are from people who aren't wearing a seat belt.

Safety experts believe that the use of a backseat seat belt could prevent over two-thirds of fatalities and serious injuries resulting from crashes. This legislation seeks to reduce automobile accident fatalities and casualties by requiring all occupants of a motor vehicle to buckle up, officials say.

The new law takes effect on November 1. Violators face a $50 fine, CBS reports.

The Hudson Valley Is Saying Goodbye To Over 20 Eateries

Newburgh Named One Of The Worst Cities Tops This Weeks Hudson Valley News