Users of an adult app for Android have found themselves in an expensive and embarrassing predicament.

It all starts out fairly innocuously: an adult downloads an app--albeit one to watch pornography--and enjoys it in his or her free time.

Then, suddenly, things change. A message appears on the phone's screen, alerting the user that a photo has been taken of them, erm, enjoying this app and that they will have to pay a ransom of $500 to have the photo removed. Not only that, but the alert remains on your phone even after a reboot; not only are you being threatened by your privacy being invaded, but you're also facing the fact that your phone has been rendered all but useless until you get it sorted out.

From Gizmodo:

But there is good news: Adult Player isn’t actually available on the Google Play store, and to use it users will have to have installed the app’s APK file manually, checking the box in settings to allow their phones to run apps from non-trusted sources. So there’s no need to be too nervous when downloading new apps to your phone. If an app was listed in the app store, apart from the fact that Google would probably stop it from being published in the first place, if it wanted to use your camera you would have to grant it explicit permission.

 

So be careful when you're out there in the Wild West that is the Interwebs. Especially the dark region of it involving porn.